Skip to content

Fatherhood

May 17, 2013

32412_10151390020697835_332470562_nToday, my heart is full of pride. Many years ago, I insisted on experimenting with my child’s life and future. I believe that the universe is designed to support us and accordingly I declared that we will choose the one school where we want our daughter Tanishqa to study and we will buy no other forms. Rummy, my wife, who was a quieter woman in those days didn’t disagree and so, the experiment was carried out. Everyday a new school’s forms were announced she would call me and I would say no. It wasn’t easy. The day St. Helena’s announced the final selection list, I was the most scared of all, for I was risking more than myself. I had to fight through a crowd to get to the board outside the gates of the school. When I saw her name on the selection list, I broke down there and wept, with relief and joy.

Today, I am sitting alone at home, in the same state. Having just seen Tanishqa’s results online. She’s passed her ICSE board exams with flying colors. She will probably be among the top 5 scorers in Art across the ICSE board for this year. I am unable to stop the tears of joy that are streaming down my face. My heart wants to burst with pride and I am filled with gratitude for this universe that seems to shower endless happiness upon me and smoothens the way for me and my family to constantly achieve our dreams.

Yellow BuddhaAnd I want to thank each one of you, who has encouraged Tan, believed in her, complimented her art, from near and far. Those of you who have her paintings hanging on your walls – It is your belief and support that emboldened her and helped her to believe in herself. Thank you

Parenting can sometimes seem like a thankless job, but only in the short-term. In life you look for lag indicators. You wait 5 years or 10 and then you realize the distance you’ve traveled and how much things have changed. All I can say today about the first 16 years of fatherhood is, that it’s worth it.

2013-04-30 13.13.01One more milestone crossed, but I am waiting for the big one – 10 years from now, when someone points to me on the street and says, “Isn’t that Tanishqa’s father?”, I will weep again.

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2013 3:43 pm

    Spoken like a father, Joy. Amazing paintings. I am sure your daughter will create a name for herself. God Bless.

  2. Raghu permalink
    May 20, 2013 5:54 pm

    Wonderful !

  3. Gurpal permalink
    May 18, 2013 12:49 pm

    Bro…I truly had tears in my eyes and was so touched… v r all so proud of Tannu…

    • gurprrietsiingh permalink*
      May 18, 2013 1:02 pm

      Thanks bro. It’s all her efforts. She worked hard to make this happen. We are happy, relieved and proud. It has been a wonderful journey so far!

  4. Gaurav Kapoor permalink
    May 18, 2013 12:44 pm

    16 years gone by but memories of Joy becoming a father still remain afresh in my mind.Tanu was probably the first new born baby I held in my arms, always knowing that a child of such wonderful parents would grow up some day to be realized as a star.

  5. Amit permalink
    May 18, 2013 12:40 pm

    Hi Chief, First of all the paintings are awesome…unbelievable from someone this age… And to hear from u the care and courage of a father… it narrated the dream u must have had a decade back which has come to the forefront today…. how we can be strong as a mountain but when it comes to our daughters our emotions give in so easily… had tears reading this. I wish to buy her painting before it becomes out of my reach. God bless Tanishqa.

    • gurprrietsiingh permalink*
      May 18, 2013 1:03 pm

      Thanks Amit. It was a joint dream, one we all shared, and I think that’w why it is special. If there is a painting she can make for you, let us know!

  6. May 18, 2013 8:28 am

    Beutiful post. Being a father of a 2.5 yr old daughter with the big schooling decision hurtling at the pace of light.. this post evoked myriad thoughts and emotions !
    It’s a well researched theory that a minute slice of someone’s life can tell volumes about someone. This one small post did just that. Nice to know you Gurprriet.
    Congratulations and the very best wishes for Tan.
    Thanks Rishi for pointing me this way.

    • gurprrietsiingh permalink*
      May 18, 2013 12:26 pm

      Thank you Rupesh for the acknowledgment and your wishes! Really appreciate you taking the time to leave a note!

  7. May 17, 2013 6:31 pm

    Reblogged this on RRGwrites and commented:
    I believe a man has three defining moments in his life – one, when he gets married; two, when he becomes father to a daughter and three, when his daughter gets married. There can’t be more life-altering moments for a man than these three.
    Sharing a heartfelt tribute to the feeling of fatherhood from a proud father and someone I can call a true HR leader – Gurprriet Siingh…

    • gurprrietsiingh permalink*
      May 18, 2013 12:23 pm

      Thanks Rishi!

  8. May 17, 2013 6:27 pm

    Truly from a father’s heart! You know, I believe a man has three defining moments in his life – one, when he gets married; two, when he becomes father to a daughter and three, when his daughter gets married. There can’t be more life-altering moments for a man than these three.
    Congratulations! I am glad to know the proud father in you.
    Best wishes to Tan; may God bless her.

Leave a Reply

