Skip to content

A father’s tribute…

March 25, 2011
Father and daughter, Poland

Image via Wikipedia

It may sound cliched (if you’re a parent it won’t), but the most magical day of my life was the day I held my newborn daughters in my hands. Yeah it’s hands, not arms… Both times, I was scared stiff and thought if I held them in my arms, they’d break..So I held them in my hands at arms length and looked at them, tears streaming down my face..

My elder one is now 14 (acts 22) and the younger one is 10 (acts 16), so you can imagine the trouble I am in.

And then, as they learned to eat, walk and quickly talk… I learned how to be a father. At first it was easy. They didn’t talk back.

At first they listened to me. Later, as time passed, they learned not to.

At first whatever they did in school was fine. Every test was a victory. As time passed, social mores started to play a role. We had to discuss performance. I had to learn to have those chats, and they had to learn to listen.

As time passed, they learned that when dad said “Beta, I want to talk to you” it was time to roll their eyes and give into another round of “Gyaan”.

I try hard all the time to be the kind of parent that can be seen as a friend. But it doesn’t always work out. It’s not easy to be the disciplinarian AND be a friend. Sometimes I make it work well. Other times I fail miserably.

They’re learning to be young adults, I am learning to be a friend.

A few years ago I tried to get them to call me by my given name. They said “Your name is Dad”, so I said “Then your name is Daughter” and that’s what I’ll call you. They just laughed at me and said “How will we know which one of us you’re calling” … Sigh.. they grow up too quick.

Photo taken by me as an example of a stay at h...

Image via Wikipedia

Earlier I used to win more arguments, now they’re the quick ones! I hate losing to anyone at anything, especially verbal repartee. But with my girls, I love to lose. It makes them happy, and just to see them grin or burst out into laughter when they get the better of me, makes my day.

They’re growing up now. Soon they will fall in love. Go through heartbreak. Get confused about their career-choices. Will go through the kind of pain I can’t help with. I will have to learn how to handle that. I don’t know yet, how I will. But I’m Dad, I’ll find a way.

Enhanced by Zemanta
20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2011 4:12 pm

    Dear Gurprriet,
    its very touchy,i can feel with my only daughter,she learned quickly on how to say no ( Some times i feel still i have learn how to say no ) and she is my great stress buster,some times she feels i’m great stress create when i tell some Gyan.

    Its wonderful

    Shiva Tadi

  2. April 16, 2011 3:25 pm

    Sweet nothings , this is the beginning my friend , soon they will be dating then father ka kaya haal hog a , but one step at a time . Love and hugs

  3. Manasi permalink
    April 7, 2011 12:47 pm

    I think this post, by far, is my fav!

    And, going by the post, you are surely one fantastic dad! Your girls are truly lucky:)

    • gurprrietsiingh permalink*
      April 7, 2011 12:52 pm

      Thanks Manasi.. And I would love to hear from my daughters one day, about how good I am ;o)

  4. Supreet permalink
    March 29, 2011 12:42 pm

    Nice, Joy! Truly from the heart, and you are a good dad!

  5. Anu permalink
    March 29, 2011 10:33 am

    I wish my daughter says this to me someday…”Mother” , quite an “achievement” post

    Regards
    anupama_shetty

  6. aneeta permalink
    March 27, 2011 5:25 pm

    Hi,
    I can so relate to your post as I have two daughters- 17 and 18, so you can imagine my position! Actually its great fun interacting with them.

  7. Debabrat Mishra permalink
    March 26, 2011 1:17 pm

    Thanks for a great post. It connects.

    Belong to the 2 daughters club as well :). My life goal is to get invited to their parties (out of their own free will). Working towards that.

    Many lessons on how to manage people came from being a parent to my daughters. If I could act with the same caring and conviction at the workplace, I would know that I was taking the right decisions.

    In many ways they have defined who I am at home and as a professional. I learn more from them and through their experiences than they from me. I guess I am extremely lucky to be a father, because of them.

    • gurprrietsiingh permalink*
      March 26, 2011 5:13 pm

      I agree..my experiences as a parent have impacted my style as a leader. I discovered the nurturer in me, and that has impacted my leadership and patience at work significantly. Thanks for this one!

  8. March 26, 2011 11:37 am

    Loved the post… part of the two daughter club too 🙂

  9. March 26, 2011 11:11 am

    So touching… So well put… *hugs&love* to your girls and you 🙂

    • gurprrietsiingh permalink*
      March 26, 2011 4:59 pm

      Thanks Shakti…this one was from the heart…it just flowed…

  10. rhetoric2reality permalink
    March 26, 2011 3:31 am

    14 and 10 already?! Time does fly!

  11. March 26, 2011 1:59 am

    Gurprriet – loved your post parenting is such a challenge and then a joy! But I always feel our children only have one birth mother and one birth father! Be proud to be their Dad!

    • gurprrietsiingh permalink*
      March 26, 2011 4:57 pm

      Thanks Dorothy, and you’re so right about our kids having only one birth mother and father, and it’s a special bond..

  12. Kanwal Arora permalink
    March 25, 2011 11:33 pm

    I can relate to this blog, have two kids younger one is a daughter, can’t agree more on this topic. Been following you on twitter, keep blogging.

  13. March 25, 2011 11:19 pm

    All they will ever want is for you to support their choices, listen to them rant about their confusion and angst, and love them.

    And if this post is any indication, I think you’re on the right track.

    • gurprrietsiingh permalink*
      March 26, 2011 12:35 am

      That’s what I aim to do! And whatever else that I need to!

Trackbacks

  1. April, Men and NOWLeadership | Geronimo Coaching Now
  2. Twitter Updates for 2011-03-30 | Shekhar Govindarajan's Blog

Leave a Reply

