Skip to content

Liquid gold – my favorite Single Malts

March 31, 2010
Glenfiddich's wooden washbacks
Image via Wikipedia

Not too long ago, I belonged to that large group of people who’d only heard of Glenfiddich and Glenlivet..of course those were the days I hardly travelled and single malts had not yet hit Indian shores.

And then one cold evening in Cincinnati changed all that! It was crazy cold, we’d just finished work and were walking around, looking for a place to eat, when my boss said, let’s have a single malt, and this one’s on me.

We got into an Irish pub downtown and he ordered a Lagavulin. The peaty flavour, the warm trail it burned down my throat on a cold day, I was a convert for life! From then on, everytime I travelled abroad, I looked for a bottle. Took me 5 years before I found some, in Sri Lanka duty free.

So today, I thought I would dedicate time to writing about this wonderful golden nectar, that brings me so much pleasure! Here’s my list of my favorite Single Malts. Having said that, this is not definitive, list. I’m sure it will grow with time. I’m sure there are many others I have yet to discover, and I encourage you to add to this list, and make it more complete for single malt lovers to find and explore.

So in no particular order, here goes:

Lagavulin: Peaty, warm and very very smooth. If you like the smoky flavor, then this is a must have.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lagavulin_Single_Malt

The Balvenie Doublewood : For scotch lovers, you couldn’t find something better, if you love the Johnnie Walker Black Label or the Chivas, then you will love this one. Heavy flavour, smooth finish.

http://www.forpeatsake.com/The+Balvenie/The+Balvenie+Doublewood+12+Year+Old/1

Old Bushmills Distillery
Image via Wikipedia

Bushmills : Single malts from Ireland? That’s what I thought when I saw this one. And trust me it is awesome! Only 10 years aged, but smooth and a lovely sweetish aftertaste. I love this one.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Old_Bushmills_Distillery

Knockando: My uncle introduced me to this one. Very Speyside, has a very smooth finish, goes down so easy, you can finish a lot of it before you know you’ve had too much. Lovely light salty aftertaste. One of my favourites!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knockando

And now for the 2 which I have discovered recently.

The Macallan 1851 Inspiration: Was introduced to me by Monisha, I remember sipping it while we sat on her balcony, with a cold breeze blowing, as we saw the Sealink being built, inching towards completion. I fell in love with it, I remember we drank it 2 more times, and I was on the lookout for it. Found it at the Bombay Duty Free. It’s mellow, well aged, and very very good. If you find it, buy it.

http://www.spirituosen-superbillig.com/Macallan_1851_Inspiration_English.html

And last, but my most recent and my most favourite:

The Strathisla: Elusive taste, that gets you! The minute I sipped this whisky, the first words out of my mouth were Β – WOW! Just added a second bottle to my bar. Buy it. Don’t think!

http://www.whisky-distilleries.info/Strathisla_EN.shtml

The entrance to the Lagavulin Distillery
Image via Wikipedia

So what are your favourites? Leave a note. Add to this list. Do us all a favour!

Enhanced by Zemanta
12 Comments leave one →
  1. Sanjay permalink
    May 10, 2010 10:38 am

    What was the price of Macallan 1851 at B’bay Airport Duty Free and the bottle size.

    • gurprrietsiingh permalink*
      May 30, 2011 4:41 pm

      $87 for a 700 ml bottle… not in stock anymore :o(

  2. April 17, 2010 2:49 pm

    In sabke to maine naam bhi nahin sune!

  3. March 31, 2010 2:30 pm

    Glenmorangie – Panfried Szechwan chicken
    Ardbeg 10 YO (strong salty flavours) – crispy aromatic duck/chicken roll
    Lagavulin 16 YO(drops of chilled water) – sliced lamb with onions

    And many more, will write about it sometime soon:)

    • gurprrietsiingh permalink*
      March 31, 2010 3:00 pm

      Thank you for the food suggestions, Chief! How could you not! You must put down a top 10 eateries list, now that would be a service to mankind!

  4. Monisha Advani permalink
    March 31, 2010 9:57 am

    The Sea Link is now complete. And a wonderful site at sunset. The drink now comes from the Auchentoshan distillery – http://www.auchentoshan.co.uk/index.php – try the 18 year old.

    • gurprrietsiingh permalink*
      March 31, 2010 10:06 am

      Can you believe I picked up an Auchentoshan just a month ago. Thanks to my bootlegger (who kept saying oshintoshin, and I finally got curious enough to ask him to bring over the bottle so I could take a look at it!)
      Before Mid-April, I have to catch up with you!

  5. Deeps permalink
    March 31, 2010 7:10 am

    My favourite one is Lagavulin or Strathisla. My first taste of Strathisla was at the distillers and I think that is when I fell in love with Single malts.. πŸ™‚ and there has been no competition besides Beer πŸ˜€

    • gurprrietsiingh permalink*
      March 31, 2010 10:07 am

      Thank you for the comment Deeps, I still remember how it was the conversation about Killian’s Red, and Lagavulin which started our friendship! πŸ™‚

  6. March 31, 2010 12:16 am

    Great story! Enjoy one for me πŸ™‚

    • gurprrietsiingh permalink*
      March 31, 2010 10:07 am

      Only one? πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. fay hokulani :: blog, beauty, health, fitness, all you want to know & more :: withlovefay.com » YesStyle Fashion-Spotting in KL

Leave a Reply

