Skip to content

Save the tiger…

February 5, 2010
Big Tiger Cub!
Image by digitalART2 via Flickr

Recently I’ve seen billboards all over the city, and a lot of ad spots on TV put up by Aircell, asking us to “Save the Tiger“, telling us there are only 1400 odd tigers left in the country.

Bengal tiger
Image via Wikipedia

While I am happy to be informed, I am left wondering what is it I can do to save the tiger? I wish someone would tell me that.

I’m also wondering if Aircell thinks I am stupid. That just because they put up signboards all over the city and advertisements on TV, I will see them as a humane company? I’d like to know What is Aircell doing to save the tiger?

Do they think that citydwellers like me are in the habit of going out and shooting a few and these ads will restrain me?

Tiger skeleton
Image via Wikipedia

The millions of Rupees they spent on putting up these signboards and advertisements would have been better spent on equipping forest rangers with better equipment, night-vision binoculars, enlarge their salaries,  increase the size of the ranger population, invest in better protection around sanctuaries.

I wish the advertising fraternity and corporations would stop taking us for fools, and use these funds more appropriately.

I wish the rich and famous would understand that after they die, they won’t be taking that tiger skin with them, nor will the crushed tiger testicle soup enable them to have better erections.

I wish that when we saw a tiger skin in someone’s home, we were empowered to make a citizen’s arrest on the spot.

Le Penseur, Musée Rodin, Paris
Image via Wikipedia

I wish governments would stop pampering these kinds of people and put some tough laws in place. If manslaughter can have a death or life sentence, then why not species-slaughter? Which is worse?

Bad behaviour needs to be disincentivised swiftly and firmly. Nothing else will work.

I Hate My Life
Image by Little Lioness via Flickr
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
11 Comments leave one →
  1. Ankit Khanna permalink
    May 26, 2010 1:43 am

    your blog is too good .. just cudnt stop reading! 🙂

  2. February 7, 2010 12:40 am

    I Agree.

  3. Neha permalink
    February 5, 2010 6:10 pm

    Hi Gurprriet,

    Kudos for the wonderul message. I am sending a blog link to everyone I know to read this. I wish this message could go across to as many people as possible.

    Neha

  4. February 5, 2010 3:41 pm

    Interesting blog on corporate advertising dollars and Save the Tigers.

  5. February 5, 2010 3:19 pm

    I agree… I am glad to find such kind of Blogs coming up. Hopefully cos. will pay attention…

  6. rajesh permalink
    February 5, 2010 3:00 pm

    well i agree with the fact that Aircell can use the money in a better format towards saving the tiger, but i think that the awareness is equally important. And to argue, does aircel has any influnece over any of the other points made like better facilities, better salaries etc.. in a way they are able to increase pressure on government to deliver and show tangible effort.
    This i think is a good effort in mobilizing the opinion however i think we are using tablets when a surgery is required.
    Can we not propose a fund for Save the tiger project managed by a well known person (aka Nandan for UID) and use it for effectively ‘saving’ the tiger !!

  7. Prashant Mehta permalink
    February 5, 2010 2:48 pm

    Hi Joy;

    I could not agree more with you,very well said.

    PM

  8. Neetubala permalink
    February 5, 2010 2:15 pm

    Hi Gurprriet,

    The perspectives you have put down are amazingly intelligent, it not only made me burst out laughing but also made me feel the current top down my feet that how grim can a situation get when we humans ourselves make contradictory remarks leading to incorrect actions without realizing that we are inviting sad challenges for ourselves and our own species. Absolutely sad challenges, sad because we seem to be mastering the art of inviting troubles in an effort to prove our intelligence, compassion, concern as leaders of the universe. All the more sad because we seem to be justifying why we are titled as “humans” to each other, perhaps because we know it’s not at all being humane. God Bless we humans!

    Neetu

Trackbacks

  1. Saving The Indian Tiger! « Rubber Tyres –> Smooth Rides

Leave a Reply

