Skip to content

Earth Hour…darkness…of the mind…

March 28, 2009

I was excited all day. Waiting for Earth Hour, when I’d switch off all lights and as many appliances as possible.

Set an alarm. And had all the candles going on time.

And then I eagerly glanced out of the window, to celebrate along with all my other fellow Indians, Earthlings(?), this new movement and realization of how we must all contribute to Earth Hour. An hour when all of us would give to the Earth.

And to my consternation, I saw that only about half the people who lived around me (and that’s quite a few) had their lights off!

This is the problem.

I live in a community where we’re all educated. We’re all aware. We’re all readers of news. Our children today, come home from school and talk about the ecology and earth, much like we used to talk about space and trains and aeroplanes. And yet, we don’t change. We continue to consume, voraciously. It’s a bad term. Voracious consumption. And we embody it.

I am reminded of the dialog from the Matrix, where Smith, says human beings are classified wrong in the taxonomy. He says we should be classified with Viruses, who infect a space, and then proceed to consume it till it dies.

The challenge is not the undereducated. The challenge is when educated people, who know and understand choose to do nothing.

Earth hour..darkness…sure…of the mind…my nation…my world..our one earth…

Sad.

I need a drink. Can’t find the bottle. It’s too dark right now….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 1:13 am

    Same here in Dubai…does anyone really care? It is very sad and frustrating. We, as a race, have become very indifferent. Where are we heading to?

  2. Shaliya permalink
    March 30, 2009 5:37 pm

    I stood in my balcony to watch the darkness, and was left wondering if it was so hard to do. Awareness or insensitivity – I don’t know, but we lack somewhere. We surely do.

  3. gurprrietsiingh permalink*
    March 30, 2009 12:39 am

    Long way to go for us humans to become more sensitive!
    So what’s on your mind today?
    You’re going to be reading this on Monday morning…

  4. March 29, 2009 8:36 am

    True. A similar feeling kept lurking in my mind last night. In Singapore, where everybody is educated, quite a number of people were plain indifferent.

Leave a Reply

